Car of the Year

From 2012 the New Zealand Car of the Year is a collaboration between the NZMWG and the AA. A combination of  the Guild’s Car of the Year award and the AA’s Motoring Excellence awards, the Car of the Year award is the most prestigious and important industry award in the country.

To become a finalist for New Zealand’s most prestigious car award, entrants must meet the criteria set by the Motoring Writers’ Guild Car of the Year committee and AA motoring specialists.

The Car of the Year is chosen from a list of ten finalists and is announced in December at an event showcasing the finalists. The winner receives the Peter Greenslade trophy.

Selection of finalists

A Car of the Year committee of Motoring Writers’ Guild members and AA motoring specialists will identify approximately twenty cars that met the criteria for consideration as finalists (these being that they had been launched in the 12 month period and were either all-new or substantially new models). They will then meet to debate and establish the ten finalists with justification for each selection.

The list of ten finalists will be submitted to the Motoring Writers’ Guild Executive and AA management for ratification with the list then being made public.

The main round of voting

Upon publication of the finalists list (ten vehicles) all Motoring Writers’ Guild members and an AA motoring specialist will vote using an agreed scoring system. Results will be collated by the AA.

In addition, Motoring Writers’ Guild members and the AA motoring specialist will be asked to nominate their “top pick” of all vehicles available for sale in New Zealand to establish the best in class award winners. The categories are:

Small Car
Compact Car
Medium Car
Large Car
SUV – small/medium
SUV – large
Sports/Performance Car
Luxury Vehicle
EV/Plug-in hybrid
Safety Award – the safety award will be the vehicle that scores the highest overall score in ANCAP during the year.
Announcement of winner and publicity

The New Zealand Car of the Year will receive the Peter Greenslade trophy. This has been presented to the winner of the Guild’s annual award since 1988 and recognizes the memory and contribution of the late Peter Greenslade, a highly respected New Zealand motoring writer.

Click here for the current NZCOTY

Click here for previous NZCOTY winners