Best in Class

Alongside the Car of the Year award are 12 best in class categories. In these, the judges can select from any new car available for sale new in New Zealand today, which means the winner can be an older model vehicle the judges’ feel remains the best, despite the release of newer cars in the category.

A new category for electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids was added to best in class line up this year reflecting the increased availability and variety of these cars.

The Best in Class 2017 winners are:

  • Micro/light car – Suzuki Swift
  • Small/compact car – Holden Astra
  • Medium/large car – Volkswagen Arteon
  • Luxury car – BMW 5 Series
  • Sports car – Mazda MX-5
  • Small SUV – Toyota CH-R
  • Medium SUV – Skoda Kodiaq
  • Large SUV – Mazda CX-9
  • Luxury SUV – Land Rover Discovery
  • Utility – Ford Ranger
  • EV/Plug in hybrid – Hyundai Ioniq
  • Safest car – Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet