• Guild elects new president

    Liz Dobson

    Liz Dobson

    The New Zealand Motoring Writer’s Guild has elected NZ Herald/Driven motoring editor Liz Dobson as its president for the next 12 months.

    Dobson takes over from immediate past president David Linklater, who has led the guild for the last three years.

    Dobson says that she is committed to bolstering the membership of the Guild by implementing new measures to attract new journalists into motoring and motorsport writing.

    “By becoming a Guild member, not only would journalists be able to be mentored by some of New Zealand’s most senior writers, but also gain credibility for the car companies – an issue that is becoming increasing important with the ever increasing number of bloggers, website writers etc approaching manufacturers for test cars,” says Dobson.

    “And as 2015 looks to be even busier than this year for vehicle launches, the Guild will again be working closely with car companies on the launch calendar.”

    The Guild has more than 30 motoring journalists working for newspapers, magazines, internet websites, radio and television. Each year its members select the New Zealand Car of the Year award, held in conjunction with the New Zealand Automobile Association, which is currently held by the Volkswagen Golf.

    It held its yearly annual general meeting on Monday at the Abbeville Estate in Mangere, Auckland at the conclusion of the New Zealand Peugeot 308 media launch.

    Freelance writer Damien O’Carroll (Oversteer, NZ Company Vehicle, Driven) has been re-elected as Guild Vice-President while Automedia Group (AutoTalk, Car and SUV, DIESELtalk) chief reporter Robert Barry, remains as Secretary for a ninth consecutive term.

    The incoming Guild executive is comprised of Bill Green (Marlborough Express/Road-Tests.Com), Richard Bosselman (Yahoo.Com) and Colin Smith (NZ ME/Bay of Plenty Times), as well as David Linklater (NBR, World, NZ Herald).


    Liz Dobson
    Motoring Writers’ Guild President
    021 613 777


    Damien O’Carroll
    Motoring Writers’ Guild Vice President
    021 034 1498

    Robert Barry
    Motoring Writers’ Guild Secretary
    022 0180 998

Leave a Reply