• Guild President Elected

    Immediate Release

    Jacqui Madelin has been elected to a third term as president of the New Zealand Motoring Writers’ Guild.

    The Guild is a professional association of around 40 motoring journalists working for newspapers, magazines, internet websites, radio and television.

    Each year its members select the New Zealand Car of the Year, currently held by the Mazda2.

    The Guild’s role is to encourage high standards in motoring journalism, and foster dialogue between its members, government agencies, driver education agencies, and the wider media.

    Madelin says the Guild aims to provide informed, objective comment on motoring matters, not only within members’ publications but also as a resource providing specialist comment to the wider media.

    “The Guild’s members include experts on almost any wheeled vehicle from motorcycles to trucks, plus specialist areas like design, fuel, motor sport and technology,” she says, “and it’s a privilege to be chosen to represent them.”

    Madelin is a freelance motoring journalist covering four and two-wheeled matters for a number of national and regional publications.

    She represents the NZ Motoring Writers’ Guild on the board of the AA Driver Education Foundation.

    Editor of ‘NZ 4WD’ magazine John Oxley is the new Guild vice-president while Robert Barry, editor of ‘Company Vehicle’, remains as secretary.

    The NZ Motoring Writers’ Guild executive is comprised of Brett Flintoff (‘Southland Times’), Cameron Officer (‘Top Gear’ NZ), Damien O’Carroll (‘Driver’ magazine), and David Thomson (‘Otago Daily Times’),




    Jacqui Madelin

    Motoring Writers’ Guild President

    09 8128 525

    025 751 521



    John Oxley

    Motoring Writers’ Guild Vice President

    09 478 4771

    021 478 119



    Robert Barry

    Motoring Writers’ Guild Secretary

    09 580 1631

    027 640 1376



Leave a Reply