• Motoring Writers Guild re-elects Dobson as President

    Liz Dobson

    Liz Dobson

    For the second consecutive year, Auckland-based motoring editor Liz Dobson has been voted in as the President of the New Zealand Motoring Writers Guild.

    Dobson is the motoring editor for NZME and Driven.

    “I’m pleased once again to have the opportunity to continue the work the Guild has been doing with the automotive sector, to strengthen our NZ Car of the Year Award, and to continue to foster young journalists into our sector of the media,” says Dobson.

    The guild aims to foster high standards of ethics and professionalism within the various avenues of media. It has around 30 motoring journalists working for newspapers, magazines, internet websites, radio and television.

    Each year its members select the New Zealand Car of the Year award which is currently held by the Mazda3.

    The Motoring Writers Guild held its yearly annual general meeting today which saw the election of a new vice-president and a new secretary, and some familiar faces to the executive committee.

    Robert Barry (Editor DIESELtalk, Car and SUV) is the new incoming Guild vice-president, and Richard Edwards (Automedia Group managing director) is the new incoming Guild secretary.

    The incoming Guild executive is comprised of Bill Green (Road-Tests.Com), Richard Bosselman (Yahoo.Xtra, Otago Daily Times) Colin Smith (Bay of Plenty Times), and John Oxley (NZ Company Vehicle).


    Liz Dobson
    Motoring Writers’ Guild President
    021 613 777

    Robert Barry
    Motoring Writers’ Guild Vice President
    022 0180 998

    Richard Edwards
    Motoring Writers’ Guild Secretary
    021 556 655

Leave a Reply