Television announcement for New Zealand Car of the Year

The New Zealand Car of the Year, involving the majority of the country’s motoring commentators, is being announced on one of the country’s highest-rating television shows.
The vehicle that has won the New Zealand Motoring Writers’ Guild’s annual award will be revealed live on TV One’s Seven Sharp on Wednesday, December 5.
Host Hilary Barry’s experience of the 10 finalists for the Peter Greenslade Trophy will also be part of the reveal.
Guild president Richard Edwards is excited by the opportunity partnering with Seven Sharp presents for an award in its 31st year.
He notes this is the first time the prize giving has achieved a live television reveal.
“Working with Seven Sharp allows us to bring the award to a new audience, and present the award in a new and fun way,” Edwards says.
“Our members’ media outlets have great coverage across the country already, and this is icing on the cake.
“Having Hilary Barry experience all 10 finalists and capturing it for television has been much fun. She was not only hilarious but genuine and insightful.”
The Guild has members from all over the country, from Kawakawa to Otago. Those eligible to vote have driven each candidate vehicle for a determined period on their home roads. They score on 10 different categories, including fitness for use, value for money and environmental responsibility.
Voting closes tonight, November 30.
The finalists in alphabetical order are the BMW X3, Holden Commodore, Hyundai Kona, Kia Stinger, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Skoda Karoq, Subaru Forester, Toyota Camry and two Volvos, the XC40 and XC60.
For more information contact Richard Edwards, 021 55 66 55.